2021 Teaching Excellence and Top 5% Awards

Quality and innovative instruction are top priorities of the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering. We recognize excellence in instruction by awarding an annual Teaching Excellence Award and through selection to our Top 5% Teachers List. Student nominations and feedback are reviewed by a faculty committee in determining these honors.

This year’s recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award is Sefaattin Tongay, an associate professor of materials science and engineering in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy.

Top 5% Best Teachers

School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering

Claire Honeycutt, assistant professor

School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering

Ajay Bansal, assistant professor
Heni Ben Amor, assistant professor
K. Selçuk Candan, professor
James Collofello, professor
Georgios Fainekos, associate professor
Alexandra Mehlhase, lecturer
Theodore Pavlic, assistant professor
Yezhou Yang, assistant professor

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

Bertan Bakkaloglu, professor
Yu Cao, professor
Gautam Dasarathy, assistant professor
Michael Goryll, associate professor
Keith Holbert, associate professor
Suren Jayasuriya, assistant professor
Jennifer Kitchen, associate professor
Robert LiKamWa, assistant professor
Antonia Papandreou-Suppappola, professor
Dragica Vasileska, professor

School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

Spring Berman, associate professor
Werner Dahm, professor
Lenore Dai, professor
Marcus Herrmann, professor
Hyunglae Lee, assistant professor
Ryan Milcarek, assistant professor
Qiong Nian, assistant professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Matthew Fraser, professor
Kristen Parrish, associate professor

The Polytechnic School

Dhruv Bhate, associate professor
Nathan Johnson, associate professor
Troy McDaniel, assistant professor
Pavlos Mikellides, associate professor
Robert Rucker, lecturer

Academic and Student Affairs

Ryan Meuth, senior lecturer
Phillip Miller, senior lecturer
Marnie Wong, lecturer

Sefaattin Tongay