Join us for the first Douglas C. Montgomery Distinguished Lecture by Harriet B. Nembhard, April 7

Harriet B. Nembhard

Join us for the Douglas C. Montgomery Distinguished Lecture at Arizona State University, a forum for the exchange of current topics related to industrial engineering. 

Generously supported by ASU Regents Professor Douglas Montgomery, the annual lecture will kick off on Friday, April 7, 2023. This year’s lecture is presented by Harriet B. Nembhard from the University of Iowa. 

Douglas C. Montgomery Distinguished Lecture: Meditations on Quality 4.0 for the Academy
Friday, April 7, 2023
Lecture: 3:30 p.m.
Q&A: 4:15 p.m.
Artisan Court at the Brickyard (BYAC) 110, Tempe campus [map], followed by a reception at 4:30 p.m. at FOCH Café & Bistro
Register to attend

All lectures are free and open to current ASU faculty, students, alumni and community partners.

Download driving directions to BYAC.


In responding to intense challenges and opportunities impacting higher education, it is imperative that institutions adapt to ensure success for their students, faculty and staff.

The concept of Quality 4.0 offers a framework that can help respond to this rapidly evolving landscape. Quality 4.0 aligns quality management with Industry 4.0 technologies such as artificial intelligence, cyber-physical systems and big data analytics alongside a robust skill set and competencies in critical thinking, working with people and courageous leadership.

This seminar will explore the potential of Quality 4.0 in improving student success, humanizing education and empowering academic leaders to create the culture change needed for transformation. It will draw on both the latest literature and personal experience, as well as invite the audience to engage in a reflective discussion on how Quality 4.0 can contribute to our shared academic mission.

About the speaker

Harriet B. Nembhard is dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Iowa and holds the Roy J. Carver Professorship in Engineering. Prior to this appointment, she has held academic leadership positions at Oregon State University and Penn State University. Nembhard has been named the next president of Harvey Mudd College and will begin that appointment on July 1, 2023.

Her scholarship is focused on improving complex systems in manufacturing and health care. It has led to several advances including a patented manufacturing process for small-scale medical devices and a sensor-based system to conduct early screening for Parkinson’s disease. Her work has been recognized by election as a Fellow of the American Society for Quality, Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Throughout her career, she has advanced a community of inclusive excellence to create a welcoming environment that enables success for everyone. She has led and participated in efforts in this regard across the academy and professional societies including NSF ADVANCE and the Society of Women Engineers. Nembhard currently serves on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Roundtable on Systemic Change in Undergraduate STEM Education.

About Douglas C. Montgomery

Montgomery established this endowed lecture to bring visibility to the industrial engineering program at ASU, which he has been a part of since 1988. He is a Regents Professor of industrial engineering, an ASU Foundation Professor of Engineering and the author of more than 16 books and more than 275 technical papers.

During his distinguished career, Montgomery has been honored as the recipient of the Shewhart Medal, the Brumbaugh Award, the Hunter Award, the Shewell Award and the Ellis R. Ott Award. He is a fellow of the American Statistical Association, the Royal Statistical Society and the Institute of Industrial Engineers. In addition, Montgomery is an honorary member of the American Society for Quality Control, an academician of the International Academy for Quality, and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute. Montgomery is also a recipient of the George Box Medal from ENBIS, or European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics.