Report an accessibility problem
Monday 25 September 2023,

Guidance to Achieving Success with NSF Proposals: A Program Director’s View

Shubhra Gangopadhyay
Program Director, ECCS, Directorate of Engineering, National Science Foundation
Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Missouri, Columbia

Monday, April 17, 2017
1–2:30 p.m.
Life Sciences E-wing (LSE) B04, Tempe campus [map]

Shubhra Gangopadhyay will discuss NSF Engineering Core programs, new initiatives, and future ideas. In addition, Gangopadhyay will present a summary of her discussions with the program directors from different NSF divisions (including CBET and CMMI) on how to increase success rates.

Shubhra Gangopadhyay is the LaPierre Endowed Chair Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Missouri. She is the Director of Center of Nanotechnology and Nano/Micro-devices at the College of Engineering. Currently, she is serving as a Program Director at the National Science Foundation.

Her areas of expertise include plasmonics for super-resolution imaging of nanostructures and sensing, metal nanoparticle-based memory devices, nanostructured dielectric films for micro/nanoelectronics and sensor applications, chemical and biological sensors using nanotechnology platforms, and nano-energetics for defense and biological applications. She has published over 160 journal papers and graduated 25 doctoral and 22 master’s students and supervised 31 post-doctoral research associates. She is the Fellow of American Physical Society and the Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. She co-founded three companies and collaborates with many industries and has been very successful in the development and commercialization of technology.

Questions? Contact Joelina Peck at

Comments are closed.

  • Features

  • Follow us on Twitter

  • Fulton Engineering on Social Media

  • In the Loop

    In the Loop is an online news site for the faculty and staff of the Fulton Schools of Engineering at ASU.